People who aren't HGV drivers

Hi all, posting after a while as I was busy settling into my new Hgv career after months of job hunting, eventually found a driving job and quite happy how things are going so far. Back to topic, I keep reading in posts about people complaining about driver’s wages and conditions and all that and ALWAYS comparing it to shelf stacking eg, I wouldn’t stack shelves for this rate etc. I was a shelf stacker most of my working life and quite enjoyed it but I’m lucky enough to be in a position now to try other things. So my question is why do Hgv drivers(especially old school) consider certain professions to be beneath them?

crap

Do they? As a retired OS driver I would have to say that never used to be the case.
However in recent years I would have to say the job and the drivers are not what they used to be. The days of ‘knights of the road’ has long gone. The wages and conditions of a lot of companies are poor and standards are at an all time low. The general public perceive us as big bullies with few manners. Personally I always earned a very respectable wage and worked for companies that looked after their drivers and now I have a healthy pension and have never been happier.
In my opinion drivers are there own worst enemies these days.

I’d stack shelves don’t bother me. Money is.money if I can find a job pays better /same that what I earm.now id do it.
I. Spent 15 years in warehouse on good money £10hr time half weekends and as much over time as you wanted.
that about 10 years ago got made redundant took up truck driving.
My mates looking for work at the time said I’d not do it. Wouldt as you say lower themselves to it. Yet thed happily drive a white van 7.5 t for less money.
And then the always ask.how can you afford a mortgage holidays etc.

ProudNewbie:
So my question is why do Hgv drivers(especially old school) consider certain professions to be beneath them?