You're not booked in mate

I’m sure we’ve all had this from a Jobsworth at Goods-In many times - You turn up with a delivery to make and they respond with a bit of sucking of the teeth, shaking of the head and “Sorry, you’re not booked in mate…” WHY do they do that even when yours is the only truck in the yard?

I had this yesterday, instead of the usual negotiation/pleading I replied “Are you saying you won’t unload me?” This obviously took him slightly by surprise, and he replied “Yes”, so I walked back to the truck.

A quick phone call back to the customer (I’m an agency driver ), as I knew how urgently the load was needed at the destination, and before I’d even had time to finish my cuppa, the same Goods-In bod was tapping on the cab door to sheepishly ask me if I’d mind backing onto the bay as they really need the goods off the pallet right now

It almost made my day :smiley:

RAOFLMAO :grimacing:. Rather you dealing with these places than me :wink::lol:.

I always make them come out to me after they have refused the load. As you said a phone call to the office is usually followed 5 minutes later by the goods in bod walking accross the yard. I have been asked a couple of times to go back in and see them, my reply now is “get them to come to me, they want the load not me”, but then I have a Masters Degree in being awkward just for the sake of it. :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

I just love it when they try that one on! No argument, I just get jobsworth to sign the notes saying “Refused” and tell him I am very happy to take it back, being an OD I get paid for the back load too :stuck_out_tongue:

My answer is ok then bye.Call office when you realise you need the freight and we’ll see if we can deliver on that day. :wink: Soon changes their mind’s when they realise it don’t bother you in the slightest. :laughing:

kitkat: