Young HGV Driver

Im 17, 18 in november, my whole life ive always wanted to be a lorry driver. A question i have is, at 18 you can only drive 7.5t trucks, if i was to get my licence would i get a job as i have no experience?

LewisG94:
if i was to get my licence would i get a job as i have no experience?

Think them days are long gone.

I love your enthusiasm - and welcome to the industry :smiley:
BUT
No - you will struggle a lot - its not a good time to even try to get a foothold. there are too many well experienced drivers out there looking for work for most employers to pick and choose from.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news- but you probably have less chance of getting a start than winning the Euro millions

Rikki-UK:
I love your enthusiasm - and welcome to the industry :smiley:

Then you go and ■■■■ on his dreams with facts that arent quite right.

How do you suggest i fullfill my dream then? Which to be driving the c+e

LewisG94:
Im 17, 18 in november, my whole life ive always wanted to be a lorry driver. A question i have is, at 18 you can only drive 7.5t trucks, if i was to get my licence would i get a job as i have no experience?

You only need to be 18 to drive the biggest of the biggest now a days don’t you?

direct.gov.uk/en/Motoring/Dr … DG_4022547

LewisG94:

Experience isnt normally the problem, its age, but dont let that put you off because theres plenty of young drivers on here who’ve had no issues getting work.

Well you need to get your license first, then go knocking on doors, you’ll more than likely end up working for the firms that know one else will go near but that doesnt matter your just after experience.

Dont let being young put you off, alot of companies like young people, generally they work hard and arent set in there ways.

Good luck.

And wasn’t that the very reason the driving age was lowered so as to get new young blood into the industry, low and behold they then come to the insurance + experience barrier.