young drivers scheme

hiya im 18 years old from telford

im in my last year as a apprentice truck machanic

and ive always been interested in trucks and i am wondering if anyone has any information on the young drivers scheme or dose anyone no if theres anyone in telford that dose this

I think it was stopped were they dropped the age from 21 to 18

i dont no

thats why im askin

yep its gone now mate…

The Young Driver Scheme

The Young LGV Driver Scheme is managed by the Road Haulage & Distribution Training Council on behalf of the Department for Transport.

Young drivers do a real and productive job whilst receiving first class training towards LGV licence acquisition and industry specific, nationally recognised qualifications.

The Scheme provides the opportunity for a young person to obtain a full Category C driving licence at the age of 18 rather than 21 and a Category C+E licence before his or her 21st birthday.

What’s involved?
Registered young drivers follow a structured training programme leading to a Level 2 Scottish / National Vocational Qualification (S/NVQ) in either “Driving Goods Vehicles” or "Transporting Goods by Road ". In addition their LGV driving skills are regularly assessed.

Stages

1. Young person recruited / selected by company Registered on to the Scheme Training Plan agreed and Induction training given
  2. Pre-driving units of S/NVQ achieved Application (through RHDTC) for
    provisional Category C licence
  3. Driver Training
  4. Pass test and gain licence
  5. Receive four satisfactory driving assessments during first six months after taking LGV test Complete S/NVQ
  6. YDS completion certificate issued after stages 1-5 successfully completed
  7. (Optional) Driver training for Category C+E licence and C+E test passed
    (This must be at least 6 months after passing ‘C’ test)

Funding