You wont believe what vosa did to me. Advice

Hello. I’ve been an LGV driver for over 12 years, and never has points on my licence, until last night.

I was driving a double decker. 2am last night, I entered the Dartford tunnel crossing from Junction 1a. I have done this route many times over the years, and having a double decker I need to move over to the right tunnel, which takes the high vehicles.

However, when I came down onto the M25, The right tunnel was closed, and the layout had changed, which confined me to the left tunnel. Barriers came down, and a sign instructed me to turn immediately left and so I did and as I exited the escape rd, I heard a horn. It was high agency. They pulled up beside me and told me that Vosa wants a word with me.

I parked up in the Vosa area by the M25 just before the tunnel. They checked my digi card etc… and handed it back to me.

Then this guy dropped the bomb on me. He handed me a fixed penalty notice £100.00 fine. Then he hesitated before announcing a more sinister implication.

he said your penalty is for “Fail to comply with a traffic sign” which is an endorsable offence. So you are given points of your licence.

I literally fell out of the lorry. Apparently there was a temporary sign, that I missed that instructs you to go clock wise around M25 if your lorry is over a certain height. I just came on the motor way from a206. I never saw any sign.

I protested and said a few words, didn’t swear, just said nothing more than 10 words, such as how do you sleep at night, Look at this place, its a building site, its easy to get caught in the wrong lane, I haven’t been here for months, I didn’t realise it had changed to confine my lorry to left only lane. I could lose my livelihood. Him and his collegues stood there legs apart stance with hands hands on hips and snarled at me, “if you don’t shut we will get the police down and you can lose your liberty as well”