Yodel Interview Assessment anyone done one?

I’ve got an interview/assessment later on in the week at Yodel in Shaw, has anyone done one of these?

Whats its like? I’m a new class 1 driver so I’m a bit apprehensive, never been on a loading bay/dock/tight parking bay before, do you think I’ll get cut any slack in this respects?

any info/advice appreciated

Never done an assessment for these people tbh, but I have done assessments before. I’d say whether they cut you any slack or not depends entirely on how desperate for drivers they are!

That may sound harsh, but I genuinely mean no offence by it mate; any assessor worth his salt will appreciate that even experienced guys can get nervous on an assessment, doubly so for a relatively new licence holder. So as long as you aren’t a danger on the road they may accept that real world practice will have you hitting the bay’s like a good 'un. However if they have plenty of drivers to pick from they may not be willing to give you the time to develop as let’s face it they are a business with targets to meet.

My advice (easy to give from an armchair) is be honest about your lack of experience with the assessor, relax and drive like you are on your test. You WILL NOT impress him by showing him how quickly you can hoon around.

Also a good tip is to ask him his advice on different scenarios you may face, everyone loves to have their egos massaged and you asking his advice gives the impression that you actually value his input. :wink:

Good luck anyway.

If you answer…“Yes I can throw a parcel over a back gate” You’re in!

That’s only on the vans Vern. There was a time when I was the trainer/assessor for the vans side and some of the muppets put in front of me did not even get past the interview stage.

Having said that, before that I did some trunking but I never had an assessment.

Drive it like you are on your test.

I had an assessment for Yodel at Hatfield a couple of years ago.