WTD infringements - am I in the wrong?

Evening all,

I am a newbie C+E driver having about 6 weeks of agency driving under my belt. With my latest client, I am getting tacho infringements and I don’t understand why - a second opinion would be much appreciated.

These are working time directive infringements, not driving hours:
Example 1: Start shift 06:50, 16min break at 10:45, 30min break at 13:30, end shift 19:25. - this triggers a ‘worked longer than 6 hours straight’ infringement between 06:50 and 13:30.
Example 2: Start shift 06:49, 48min break at 12:00, end shift 19:19. This triggers a ‘worked longer than 6 hours straight’ infringement for 12:48 to 19:19.

I was under the belief that I need to take 15 minutes prior to 6 hours work, another 15 prior to 9 hours, and then a final 15 regardless of how far past 9+ hours I work. I know I cannot do 15 + 15 + 15 to reset driving hours, so hence doing either 15+30 or a 45.

Client insists this is not a client-specific rule, and that this is a genuine tacho WTD infringement.

Martin.

Example one - no rules have been broken. This example is exactly as I would, and do, conduct my shifts, and I’ve not had a WTD infringement for about 10 years. I imagine you set the wrong mode on your tacho during your 16 min break, because you say the infringement is related to the 0650-1330 period.

Example two, you’ve gone for longer than 6 hours without at least a 15 min break, therefore it is an infringement.

Also, just to point out, if you have a 15 min break before 6 hours, you don’t need a 15 min break before 9 hours unless the length of your shift is between 6 and 9 hours (then you need a total of 30 mins of breaks). You just need to make sure you don’t ever work for more than 6 hours without at least a 15 min break.

There’s 2 parts to the wtd breaks.

1. The 6 hour rule