WTD infringement - question

I’ve been doing agency work for the past five months and today had a WTD Infringement to sign.
At this certain agency I signed an opt out of the WTD but the company I had driven for sent me the infringement as I had done 10hrs 13m in a 24hr period on nights. What I cannot understand is why this company previously informed me that the night shift was 11hrs. I had actually totalled 6hr driving, 45m break and the rest shunting and drinking tea.
Where have I gone wrong??

You went wrong signing the agreement with the agency, as they have no control over the workforce at any of their clients, and are not a transport company so need not show compliance to the regs. I guess they wanted you to think it was ok to do extra hours for their benefit. In future, I suggest you ask the score about night duty for the wtd at the client, and do it their way

mkb600:
I’ve been doing agency work for the past five months and today had a WTD Infringement to sign.
At this certain agency I signed an opt out of the WTD but the company I had driven for sent me the infringement as I had done 10hrs 13m in a 24hr period on nights. What I cannot understand is why this company previously informed me that the night shift was 11hrs. I had actually totalled 6hr driving, 45m break and the rest shunting and drinking tea.

If the infringement bothers you ask at the company about it, or if you’re not likely to go there soon get your agency to query the infringement.

I’ve twice been given infringements for the same thing at a company where we had opted out of the night time work limit, when I refused to sign the infringements and pointed out why they looked puzzled, sometimes the left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing :unamused: :wink:

If the company don’t have an opt-out agreement in place it could be that an analysis company has marked up the infringement without knowing that you’re not employed by the company.