Wtd directive flaunted!

Hi all

I work as a lorry driver and I do 47 hours per week via the 17 week spread.

To my disgust I am finding fellow drivers starting at 5 with there tacho cards and putting there tacho on rest whilst working on loading vehicles from 5:30 to 6:00 giving them there uk directive break allowing them to do deliveries then take another 30 minute break if close to 4 hour 30 for there EU break.

Is this considered acceptable by law, surely its not right to take break so early in to shift.
Yes i know its illegal to work your break but I am also interested in knowing legality of early breaks.

I am in the situation of being questioned about my duty as fellow drivers doing my job get back much earlier!
I`m no slouch on doing my job but when drivers using there breaks the way they are just to knock off earlier bugs me.

rant over
Colin

If no driving is done before taking a break, it may not be counted as a driving break, meaning a full 45 will be needed later on.

they move truck (sometimes but rarely) a matter of feet!

at least 1 minute driving needs to be recorded to make it a driving time break so moving it a few feet is not going to do that

Exactly as I thought which really bugs the crap out of me, start at 5 work my nuts off til 6:30 then hit road taking break waiting for 1st drop to open (30 minutes) then do further 5 drops then take further 30 minute break, leaving me fresh drive time to hit yard for 14:30/15:00.

Driver did my run on Friday was back in yard 13:30 now I`ve been pulled as to why I take so long when other drivers can get back so early.

I pointed out that they put tacho`s on break whilst working yet they say “thats there perogative”

If the vehicles are fitted with type 1 digital tachographs moving just a few feet will record a minutes driving time, so the break would count as a driving break.

I agree though that when people regularly abuse the regulations it makes life hard for those that stick to them.

gsxcol: