Worth starting out at 42

I am in a sales job on £45k i have completely had enough of it.
I live in Warrington where there are lots of warehouses etc. i need to earn £36k as a minimum. Ideally £40k.
Is it worth me training on class 2 and working up. is it worth the investment.

I am worried as a new driver i am maybe too old? I will certainly graft and i am fit and healthy.
I quite like the idea of multidrops etc. I just need to make sure i can earn the money. Ideally Monday to Friday.

Any advice would be grateful and examples of wages etc in the area.

Frankly no. If you are earning 45k your gonna struggle as a new pass to earn that amount unless you want to work every hour if every day 5 days/nights a week and 6 every other week. Unless you happen to be lucky and land a decent job paying decent wages for decent hours. But they are fairly few and far between.

36 to 40k is doable in most areas but for 50 or 60 hours a week generally, and In some areas more hours a week than that.

The job is as crap as any job your trying to move from, potentially even worse with all the BS, micromanagement and all the rest of the crap you have to deal with.

If I could earn even 40k away from truck driving I think I’d do it in a heartbeat and never look back tbh.

Sent from my CPH2173 using Tapatalk

You’re not too old at all, but expecting to start on no less than 36k may very well be unrealistic. There is not a shortage of drivers, only a shortage of experienced drivers.

Just do it or you’ll never know.
I went straight to class 1 at 42 and there are probably more people i work with who are older rather than younger.
As for wages, set a bar and don’t accept less. It’s cringe-worthy what some people are happy with when it comes to pay.