Worth me doing lgv?

I left the army just undera year ago. Ended up getting medically discharged after I had a climbing accident. Overall in okay health now. Certainly no problems driving.

Thing is… When I hit divvy street I realised that I couldn’t get any sort of decent job. So have signed myself up to an open uni course to get a degree. However I need some cash to earn for the next few years.

Now the thing is… Before I got hurt i was going to do my Hgv with the army. I’ve already done the midicalvpart and have a provisional.

So as a 25 year old, would there be enough agency work for me to clear 200 quid a week in the south? Thinking Southampton area. I know it’s an open question… But really I need to know if the work is there.

Also I don’t want to drive long term. I just need something to pay for my rent. I’ve got the cash for the course… But I don’t wanna throw it down the drain.

I would hope you could earn that without too much trouble.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

I’m a newbie looking to do my HGV licences (In Southampton), and from my research the answer is probably yes.

The feedback I’ve had is that there is work for new INEXPERIENCED drivers at present, and the rate is hopefully/probably £9+ an hour. However, if you have other commitments as well and can’t do a full weeks worth of shifts, the agencies may put you at the bottom of the pile. But don’t quote me on that!

Thanks guys.

The reason I asked is cos my uncle said no company will take someone on without 2 years experience. He drives tankers and earns loads (£40k plus). However he said that no one will give a new person any work. I was thinking that if I went out to agencies then they might give me a shot.