Worth Doing Refresher Training?

So guys got a hgv 2 job, passed the interview and an assessment drive. It’s been years since I’ve drove a cat C truck ( class 2) but managed to do an hour with one of their guys who said he was just after a safe drive. No real criticism and managed to drive well enough to their standards. I’ve been driving buses for 8 years though.

Looked at doing a few hours refresher training with local HGV training schools, it’s mainly 4 hour blocks with an instructor, costs range from £300-400.

The Mrs thinks it’s a waste of money, as she said the truck I’ll be driving will be different to the one I’d be training in and that the company will train me on their equipment anyway.
Whilst I’m inclined to agree with her, just for a confidence boost, I’m prepared to pay the money and go out with an instructor. Just to go over certain things and a few rules and regulations.
I’ve got myself a digi card and going to train myself on how they work on YouTube!
Never used one before.
Also my mechanical knowledge is pretty much nil.

You have been assessed for an hour and deemed safe in a rigid - who needs more than that :question: :exclamation:
Listen to the BOSS = your Mrs :smiley:

You’ve already passed an assessment drive, so the company clearly deem you competent to drive.
You won’t be shown anything regarding the truck mechanically, so there’s no point from that regard, and they won’t show you anything about using a tacho card, their vehicles might not even have them fitted as training vehicles are tacho exempt. If you’re unsure about tacho use your best bet will be a CPC module on tachographs.
Save your money, it doesn’t sound like a refresher drive would benefit you all that much for what you’re after.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk