Working time

HI i work as a driver for a fuel company doing multiple drops , due to the bad weather our boss is pushing more and more work on us , As we do not drive far between drops we hardly go over our driving time but how many hours in the day can we be at work for? At the moment for example some drivers book on at 05 and do not get back till say 7 or 8 with 45 mins break ! this can’t be right can it ?

If you come under the scope of EU Driver’s Hours regulations then it is all about the amount of rest in a 24 hour period you require. You require a continuous period of 11 hours rest in the 24 hour period beginning when you start work after a rest period, this leaves you 13 hours you can be at work for. Three times between weekly rest periods you can reduce the 11 hours to a minimum of 9 hours, this leaves you 15 hours you can be at work for.

If you start at 05:00 and have a 9 hour rest available you can work through until 20:00 and as you say you don’t accumulate 4.5 hours driving you will need either a minimum of 30 minutes break, if the total work for the shift (driving and other work) is between 6 and 9 hours, or 45 minutes if the total work for the shift is more than 9 hours to satisfy the WTD regulations. Those breaks can be split into 2 or 3 parts provided any part is at least 15 minutes.

So, the drivers who are starting at 5 AM and working through until 7 or 8 PM with a 45 minute break are legal, as long as they don’t do this more than 3 times between weekly rest periods. Once they have done those hours 3 times they can only work from 5 AM until 6 PM until they have taken a weekly rest period.

Stand by for ROG to come along and start banging on about safety, however you didn’t ask about safety you asked about legality. :wink: :stuck_out_tongue:

Coffeeholic:
Stand by for ROG to come along and start banging on about safety…

No reason to - the 6 hour RT(WTD)R rule will apply :smiley: