Working time infringement 6 hours

I am a new LGV driver and got flagged by employer for WTD infringement, my question is if I took a break of at least 15 minutes then finished work after 6 hours and put tacho on rest after 6 hours but before the 9 hours is that really an infringement, as although non mobile workers have to take 20 mins which can’t be taken at end of day it appears there is no definite guidance which says you cannot under any circumstances make up to 30 mins if you finish work shortly after 6 hours. Or should I have had another 15 minute break before removing tacho, then some other work, then logged off to make it legit. Not sure anyone can answer this question but putting it out there. Seems crazy to say you have to either take full 30 before logging off tacho, or stick around pushing buttons. Of course ideally just take 30 mins full stop. My job rarely enacts 4.5 hour rule as deliveries usually take long time and I’m not driving allot.

If your total working time is more than 6 hours but less than 9 hours you should have break/breaks totalling at-least 30 minutes, 15 minutes of that break should be started before exceeding 6 hours working time.

If your total working time is more than 9 hours you should have break/breaks totalling at-least 45 minutes.

Breaks for the working time regulations can be taken in separate parts of at-least 15 minutes each.

Breaks for the working time regulations should interrupt the working time, therefore cannot be taken at the immediate start or end of the shift.

So in answer to your question, yes what you did would get you an infringement for insufficient break during the shift.

edit:

nunners:
Or should I have had another 15 minute break before removing tacho, then some other work, then logged off to make it legit

That’s exactly what you should have done :wink:

What he ^^ said.

And please only read information from an approved web site ie

.Gov

tachograph: