Working time advice

I’m a new hgv driver and the company i work for are hiring a ■■■■■■■ lorry for doing our own tar repairs. I’ll be driving the lorry probably only 1-2 days a week and actual driving time will probably only be a couple hours a day. Will i still be tied into the working time directive for the whole week? Any advice is much appreciated.

Not your fault, but a gulley cleaner lorry?

No. A lorry that will keep tar hot all day

So each day you will drive from a depot to a site, sit there all day, then return to depot every evening? Maybe a bit of movement whilst on site?

Coal Tar? It is a separate issue but is that Dangerous Goods?

When not driving i’ll be working a digger rest of time

You might want to try posting the type of vehicle in a way that the autocensor will accept, but I’m going to guess what it didn’t like and say the vehicle is a “Hot bocks” so it will be nothing less than about 7.2 to 7.5 T, maybe up to about 26T.

WTD and RTD are there to prevent overworking, so I would question why you think it is “tying you in”. It’s there for your benefit. Road resurfacing/building isn’t an “emergency” service so there is no reason for the exemptions seen for military, police, fire services etc

Anyway, have a read of these links, which should answer your questions

https://app.croneri.co.uk/feature-articles/british-domestic-hours-rules-details-and-dangers

There is also the “utilities” exemption caveat, but I’m not 100% sure if that covers road maintenance

Whereas there is information in this link specifically regarding decisions on road maintenance activities
https://app.croneri.co.uk/feature-articles/tachograph-exemptions-maintenance-activities-updated-guidance