Working for more than one agency

Has anybody ever done this?

Are there any problems with PAYE, etc?

You would be taxed on everything on the second one.

I work full time in a factory driving forkies. Its shift work so I get plenty of time off.

I’m signed up with 3 different agencies for HGV work.

Each agency knows that I’m signed up with the other 2. No problems and its the first one to ring who gets my services. :smiley:

You will just get a BR tax code for the second job, which is the code for a second job… funnily enuf… :smiley: iirc, you’ll get 20% tax on it, cuz you’re obviosly gonna be rackin it in, according to the government… :unamused: :unamused:

Luv
Chrisie… :sunglasses:

There is a way round it, you sign up with one of the companies that show you as being your own company. I cant remember the name of them, but have a look on the net. From what I can remember you pay them a small fee every week and they bill the agency you have worked for on your behalf, at the end of the year they issue your company accounts for you. you can also claim mileage to and from work and your work clothes as expenses that get offset against tax. By all accounts it looks like a way of making more money, but you dont get holiday pay as technically you are employing yourself. Hope this helps.

Ragtop:
You will just get a BR tax code for the second job, which is the code for a second job… funnily enuf… :smiley: iirc, you’ll get 20% tax on it, cuz you’re obviosly gonna be rackin it in, according to the government… :unamused: :unamused:

Luv
Chrisie… :sunglasses:

Ah ha. But I guess it all evens out in the end.

Recently a lot of my income tax has been in my favour, due to being in and out of work since last November. Shame it can’t last. :cry:

smcaul: