Worker beware! Umbrella vs PAYE rates

Hello, I have registered specifically to post this as I am concerned that a lot of drivers are getting ripped off by agencies and umbrella companies since IR35. I know that a lot of people will be wise to this already but it seems that a lot still are not so it is worth the time and effort to air this issue.

I have been a pro driver for 25 years including 18 at class 1. I have also spent a year or so working in an agency as a recruiter (although back on the road now). In that time I have worked for a lot of agencies, been paid through various means including PAYE, self employed, umbrella and LTD.

I recently went for a job close to my house. I live in Gosport and class 1 jobs are quite hard to find so I was interested. It’s a temp to perm job with a very well known agency supplying a very well known haulier who I have worked for in the past. The agency told me it was £11 an hour PAYE for the temp period. That’s about in line with local rates, maybe a bit lower, you can get £12 in Portsmouth, but as it’s 5 mins from my house I accepted that. Now, the trouble came when the agency mentioned they wanted me to be paid through an umbrella company and the equivalent rate is £13.20. I knew immediately that this wasn’t right, it just doesn’t equate. My experience working in the agency and also as a LTD driver told me this was just wrong. I spoke to the umbrella company who relented and said that they could pay me straight PAYE at £11 an hour. Out of interest the guy did the maths for me as I spoke to him and here it is…

I had worked out the PAYE take home pretty easily. For a 50 hour week it’s roughly…

11 x 50 = £550 less roughly 20% deductions is £440 plus your holiday pay is around £55 so take home £495.

Through the umbrella company he said I would take home £475 including holiday pay.