Wind - when to call it off

I’m a new driver of just 6 months experience although I’ve already had a few hairy moments from strong winds.

With a couple of storms 70mph winds due to hit the U.K. this week, I’m wondering when is it unsafe to go out in a HGV?

Any suggestions or advice

If it helps, I know of a bridge where they close it to “high-sided vehicles” any time the winds are > 40 MPH, so I’d suggest if the winds are forecast to be in excess of 40 MPH along your route, you might want to re-consider.

If it is gusty, reduce your speed as this will help.

Talk to your company/customer, too, and let them know what is going on. Better to be late than laid on your side!

With the majority of companies when you are laying on your side is when it’s time to call it unsafe.

I do think over certain wind speeds they should not be allowed to send trucks out on the roads.

mjallby:
I do think over certain wind speeds they should not be allowed to send trucks out on the roads.

+1

I found this thread, too: trucknetuk.com/phpBB/viewto … 5&t=167422

Every situation with the weather is different. It would depend on vehicle/trailer type, load and where you are in relation to the weather. Is it a curtainsider with a light load, is a fridge with a heavy load? Are you heading into bad weather heading away from bad weather? All variables but if you know some of these things it can help.

If its a curtain of any kind always make sure its done as tight as possible to avoid the curtain acting like a big sail. If you have a fridge/box trailer with heavy load it will be more stable but don’t be complacent. Wind doesn’t have to tip you over to cause problems. A gust big enough to move you sideways can cause just as much an issue.