Who was in the wrong here?

I’m a pretty sensible driver and hardly ever invoke the wrath of my fellow drivers, except for the inevitable situations where I have to momentarily obstruct cars while manoeuvring etc.

However, today I really ■■■■■■ off an arctic driver and it left me with that doubt that perhaps I’d unknowingly done something foolish.

So, we’re coming off a roundabout. Three lanes, with the right being an overflow one which merges with the outside lane slightly further up. I’m in the middle lane in an unladen 18t flatbed and there’s a DPD arctic in the left lane. Immediately after exiting the roundabout he indicates and starts moving over. I wouldn’t say he exactly forced me over but he definitely started slowly encroaching at which point I moved into the outer lane just to be safe - I did wonder if he’d not seen me but it seems unlikely.

Thing is, I’m now I’m the overflow lane and gradually running out of space. As I was clearly accelerating faster I just used the kickdown and went for it. I moved back into the middle lane with a decent amount of space (I always check rear camera) but it’s conceivable that he may have braked to let me over.

As soon as I moved over he lays on the horn for a good 5-10 seconds and starts flashing etc. I’m not sure what he expected me to do. Surely it’s a bit of a ■■■■ move to push somebody into the overflow lane and then expect them to hit the anchors and fall in behind you, especially as we could’ve presumably just continued in our respective lanes without him moving over.

So I did wonder if maybe I read the situation wrong. DPD don’t strike me as the type of company who would put up with aggressive driving (I could be wrong) so I wonder whether he was maybe moving over as he needed more space etc, but surely he would’ve just straddled both lanes from the outset had this been the case?

Tailschwing: