Which countries accept a class 1

and is a retest allways needed in them…particularly interested in austrailia in a few years when i have some experience under my belt…its not like the tv programme A LIFE DOWN UNDER is it were people seem to come back and are treated like second class citizens un willing to be given a job because they are a pom…

Well, This one won’t thats for sure.

As far as I know, virtually any country outside of the European Union, would require a retest for Class 1.

When I first moved to the States and told them I had almost ten years tractor trailer experience they laughed and asked if it was on one of those “lorries”. I had to start as a rookie and earn the respect of US truckers, I know they used to watch me in the yard, with the jibes, “bet he can’t make that” kinda comment, but I did and they now realise I must have got my experience which is invariably where more than theirs somewhere.

As for Australia, I think I read somewhere in T & D recently(upto a year) that they respect the experience but you still have to retest. Skippy or Boots would be the best guys on here to answer that.

Stuart

They do tend to take the mickt about “LORRIES” till I tell them that with the imperial ton being 3300lbs as opposed to 2000lbs here andthe max hieght being 16’6" so having car transporters three decks high and the gross being almost 120,000lbs … they soon stop laughing.

thanks guys… are the wages in aus comparable

goofball:
thanks guys… are the wages in aus comparable

Not if you intend to bring money home to the UK, the last time I checked it was $4 (Aus) to the pound