Where to Start?

Hi all. I need some advice please. I passed my C2 in 2012 and at the time I couldn’t get work due to no experience even though I was a Bus Driver in London for 2.5 years. Anyway, I’ve since been working in admin and I’m now considering trying again. However, I don’t want to go in blind so can anyone provide me with advice on where to start and the pros n cons.

I do appreciate at 1st until I obtain some experience I might have to take what I’m given, but long term I would want to work on a regular route Mon - Fri. Is this realistic and if so which is the best route and what should I avoid?

Cheers

Chris

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

One route is agency but its lucky dip to what you get. The other is to go round hauliers and see if they have any places. If you can get a day off to go in a see the TM’s then thats even better.

Thanks for the advice ‘radar19’ - do you think they would consider me with no HGV experience?

Mate, there is plenty in past threads to confirm this, but the short version is this.

Yes as a Newbie you can get a start, the work will be hard and undesirable (i.e. No one really wants that job :wink:). So if you are keen, motivated, preferably clean, yes you will get a Class 2 job. Agency is jumping in the deep end as you will be thrown the keys, so if that scares you, go for a full time gig and hopefully get a bit of training and eased into the job.

Pay on these undesirable (probably multi-drop, possibly food service delivery) is actually quite reasonable, above what you will get say driving a tipper. So appreciate in the game of “Class 2 or C” work, effort generally equals reward. This will help you look for the catch when pay looks attractive… I was once offer good money to deliver for the Bathstore, I calculated what was involved and said NO before the agency finished saying the name… :wink: