Wheel Nuts !

Can anyone shed some light on when wheelnuts should be re torqued company im working for at mo insist on them being done on a weekly basis and ive even heard of another company wanting them done as part of daily checks?

Steve Rogers:
ive even heard of another company wanting them done as part of daily checks?

doesn’t everyone lol.

I am not one for torquing daily or maybe even weekly, unless you are slacking the nuts off first, everytime you go near it with a torque wrench, you are likely to be overstretching the studs or threads.

I have said before on these forums, a torque wrench and tyre inflator are precision instruments that have to be calibrated. mere drivers are not trained to use them correctly

All I do is check that they’re on. I am not a mechanic.

bigvern1:
All I do is check that they’re on. I am not a mechanic.

+1

Me too these days, but when I was in a job that involved being off road a lot I’d do them weekly, and they DID quite often need it. You have to make a decision based on circumstances, I think.

All way best to keep a eye on them, especially when some jealous drivers in the yard slacken them off for you over the weekend Cheers Mel

no you shouldnt be re torqueing wheel nuts but you should be checking for loose wheel nuts as daily checks which is pretty easy to check if you have wheel nut indicators if you havent then you need a small toffee hammer and tap each wheel nuts and one that just sounds a shart clack is tight and one thats a more bass click is loose…this is how vosa will check your wheel nuts at the roadside as they do when you take any vehicle over 3.5tonne for mot…
once wheel nuts have been torqued after a wheel change they should be checked at about 30 to 40 miles in case of dirt or loose rust had got behind the wheel and hub face as this will crush and fall out making the wheel loose…

Dont need to check them if you got a decent company to torque them up in the first place.