Wheel coming loose

Evening all, I’m a newbie on here. I came across the forum whilst looking for some info, liked it and decided to stay!!

Last week we had a driver lose a double drive on an eight wheeler. Directors of the company want to take him to a disciplinary (expected and probably warranted) but my question is this :- how long do wheels take to fall off after the nuts have come slack?

I ask as the driver claims he checked them before he left in the morning (6am ish) and they fell off at about 10 in the morning.

The question is could they be visibly tight (no arrow markers) and fall off so quickly?

Many thanks in advance.

yes

Had it had a wheel changed

There is no way this should be pinned on the driver unless it can be proved the wheel nuts were visibly loose - which is impossible.

What systems and procedures do you as a company have in place to ensure this sort of dos’nt happen its not all down to the driver,is there an “audit trail” that demonstrates your company & directors are squeaky clean,if VOSA get involved this is what they look for :exclamation:

I lost a wheel on the drive axle a long time ago. I went across the motorway to retrieve it, The me and another driver put it back on before plod turned up.
Luckily i wasn’t far from a 24/7 Daf dealer. They got a new set of studs and a new wheel, So i was back up and running the following morning. The boss was ok with it, But i got a bit of stick from the lads and i was prety annoyed with myself, So i got the studs checked. It turned out that they were the wrong studs. It didn’t matter how tight i tightened the nuts, They would never fully tighten the wheel.
As a result of me doing my homework, The boss got Daf to change the drive axle studs on the whole fleet.

Dig out the completed daily driver’s defect report for the day in question which clearly shows he has signed the vehicle off as “Nil Defects” and he’s in the clear.