What's the advantage of being self employed?

I’ve recently given up a full time job as a truck mechanic with the intention of finding around 20 - 30 hours part time work a week.
I see a lot of jobs advertised with two rates, PAYE & LTD. I take it that means either I could work direct for them or self employed. Have I got that right?
To take one as an example, this is not one I’ll be applying for as it’s full time + overtime, just to show the rates, it’s £9.41 per hour PAYE, £10.41 per hour LTD reed.co.uk/jobs/lgv-ce-driver-days/29473182

Monday to Friday is about 260 days a year. 28 days holiday means about 1 day holiday earned per 10 days worked, so as self employed I would need to earn the PAYE rate +10% to break even anyway.
What’s the advantage to going self employed then? It seems a lot of paperwork for very little gain?
Is it just that I would be free to swap from one employer to another easily? If I work as a mechanic as well, then I guess I could claim the VAT back on tools as well as the fuel used to drive to work, but then would I need business insurance to carry those tools?

Graham,
I de-registered as a self employed truck driver last September after about 5 years, to fully retire.
everyones personal circumstanses are differant so you need to see an accountant for a, valuation, for want of a better word, the truck stop is not the best place to get advise.

1 pound an hour premium is taking the ■■■■. It costs the company a good few quid more to employ someone.

As self employed you benefit from being able to reclaim many expenses by doing a tax return which is very easy. You can also pay yourself in the form of a dividend which attracts lower tax. I have found it most beneficial to be self employed. I also formed a limited company (easy) but kept it dormant in reserve. But you don’t benefit from employee protection laws, holiday pay, sick pay etc. so maintain your union membership

Euro: