What licence to drive buses?

Evening all.

Fairly new to the site, been waiting in the wings for a while observing!! :blush:. Fantastic site btw!! :laughing:
As my user names suggests im currently a hgv mechanic (altho do a bit of agency work as and when i can :wink: , and contemplating changing to driving full time!)
Just wondering if any one knows what licence is required to drive a coach? Ill explain a little more…its a coach what ive prepared for test (MOT) on friday. Its not been tested as a psv because its not been used for hire or reward or to carry fare paying passengers! Its been tested as a ‘class 5’ which is what large motorhomes get tested as. im under the illusion that motorhomes are non hgv there for would this coach fall into the same catagory??

im class c & c+e if it makes any difference and the coach is 12500 kg unladen.

Thanks in advance.

Yes i think you are right. If the coach is not used for hire or reward, ie, fare paying passengers you are OK… :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Doesn’t class 5 also include PCV’s? Don’t LGV’s come under class 7.

Category B

Motor vehicles with a maximum authorized mass not exceeding 3,500 kilogrammes (kg) and having not more than eight seats in addition to the driver’s seat (also with a trailer having a maximum mass which does not exceed 750 kg or the unladen mass of the tractor vehicle, where the maximum authorized mass of the combination does not exceed 3,500 kg).

Category C

Motor vehicles other than those in Category D and whose maximum authorized mass is over 3,500 kg (also with a trailer having a maximum mass which does not exceed 750 kg).

Category C 1
Motor vehicles other than those in Category D and whose maximum authorized mass is over 3,500 kg but not more than 7,500 kg (also with a trailer having a maximum mass which does not exceed 750 kg).

Category D