What is the difference bus and coach driver?

What is the difference between a bus driver and a coach driver? Are they the same thing?

no they are different,
a bus driver takes people to work or to the shops and a coach driver takes people on holidays

I’m an intercity coach driver.

Basically a glorified bus driver but with a way fancier vehicle and only a few select pick up and drop off points. None of this stop start malarky :laughing:

Someone once described bus driving in town (staged) as driving from leeds to london, and having to stop every 200yds to let people on/off

Sounds about right. Ball burster

Thanks for the replies. So can a bus driver drive a coach for a day and vice versa without any training?

Yes perfectly ok as you already have the licence for it. Make sure if it’s a manual gearbox that you have manual licence and not restricted to auto only. Next to pic of bus on your licence if it says code 78 then you’re auto only. You’ll also have to use a tacho

Also a lot of buses are automatic transmission now, whereas coaches tend to have manual gearboxes

(Yes, yes, I know, there are plenty of automatic coaches now, too!) :smiley:

Sorry, my post got stuck! :blush:

It should have gone in after Steve-o’s post at Thu May 28, 2009 1:29 pm :unamused:

Usually wages are less for coach drivers too. If you imagine stage work as being on the go all the time, Coach driver on day excursion etc get to sit about all day smoking, eating and maybe having a nice snooze :laughing:.

Yes I am speaking from experience :laughing:

you’ll find you’re on min wage and have to make up the rest in tips and crap you sell like bottled water out the cash and carry

coach drivers get free food at the motorway services aswell, :smiley: :smiley: arrrrhhh just remembered why i carry a shirt and tie in my truck, :wink: :wink: :wink: