What is it about Atkinsons?

Hi all, What is it about Atkinsons?. My brother is a fanatic when it comes to these lorries, but I don’t understand a few things about them, hope you can help. Whats with the silver knight,black knight, borderer and all the rest of the names? What do they mean?. As you can probably see, I’m no expert but they look alright as trucks go. I also notice that some of them have one wiper at the top of the drivers side but on the bottom of the passenger side windscreen, nobody’s explained this. Were Jennings the only firm to make the sleeper conversions and were there any variations?. Also I wonder if anyone has any photo’s of Atkinsons owned by Lucozade. Many thanks…

Where to start?

Silver Knights, Black Knights and Gold Knights were the assignations given to the range of different chassis on the Mk1 range in the sixties.

Borderer, Defender, Searcher, Venturer, Leader and (although there is some debate about it) Raider were names given to different chassis in the Mk 11 range - these came into being after the introduction of the range, so there are some Mk11 Silver Knghts out there as well…

You’ll probably notice that it’s some of the Mk 1s which have the odd wiper arrangement - the Mk 11s had top-mounted wipers with a linkage which was concealed behind a panel in the cab.