What does my licence entitle me to drive?

Hey up All

Just after a bit of clarification as to what exactly I can drive based on what my licence says.
I passed before 1997 and my licence states that I have C1 and also C1E. What weight trucks does this mean I can drive?
Does it realistically mean I could walk into a job/part time job with no experience driving these trucks?
Also one website I’ve looked at states if i have these ‘grandfather’ rights I don’t need DCPD.

Largest thing I’ve driven is a long wheelbase ■■■■■■ and also a box type removal van.

Bottom line is, Its all a bit confusing, Im a complete newbie and any help is greatly appreciated.
I work in the print trade and my current job is not looking great at the moment, so I am looking into back up plans etc.

thanks in advance.
Scoff

gov.uk/driving-licence-categories

Up to 7.5T basically, but check to see if you are subject to restrictions. You will probably find that you are prevented from being able to drive professionally for money.

gov.uk/driving-licence-codes

You will need the DCPC to drive commercially

You should be able to drive unto 7.5t on that licence

You can drive a vehicle combination with a MAM of up to 7.5t, or a 7.5t vehicle with a trailer not exceeding 750kg.

You will need a CPC card to drive commercially, but with not need to do initial CPC, as you have grandfather rights on your C1 entitlement. 35 hours CPC training will qualify you for a card.

You also have the option of obtaining driver cpc by going down the “initial” route. This is Mod 2 (case studies test) and Mod 4 (practical demonstration test).

If you consider going for CAT C (any rigid) training this can also count towards your periodic training (the 35 hrs). Same applies if you then go for CE. This isn’t the case with all trainers - ask the question. You may also choose to do ADR which can give you up to 28 hours of cpc.

Worked carefully, you can achieve 10 years of driver cpc without too much effort.