Weekly Rest Question

Im new to trucknet but ben driving hgvs for around 6 years. Up until about 3 months ago I have always driven vehicles with analogue tachos in them. Maybe used my card a few times but not very often. I am now working with an agency and I did trunking for a week and got myself into a mess by not keeping proper records of my driving time and did over my nine hours four times and shortened my daily rest 4 times. Im not blaming the agency,it is all my own fault for not keeping notes of start,finish etc. I have spent the last few weeks studying the driving regulations and the WTD as I was never 100% sure about it and I understand most of it but Im completely lost about the weekly rest regulations,in particular the shortened weekly rest.

“A regular weekly rest of at least 45 hours, or a reduced weekly rest of at least 24 hours, must be started no later than the end of six consecutive 24-hour periods from the end of the last weekly rest. In any two consecutive weeks, a driver must have at least two weekly rests - one of which must be at least 45 hours long. A weekly rest that falls in two weeks may be counted in either week but not in both. Any reductions must be compensated in one block by an equivalent rest added to another rest period of at least 9 hours before the end of the third week, following the week in question.”

So I need to take 45 hours one week and then I can shorten to 24 the next. But I do nights. So if I finish at,say, 6am on Saturday morning can I begin again at 3am on Monday for 45 hours? Or is this classed as falling in two weeks?
Also,

“Any reductions must be compensated in one block by an equivalent rest added to another rest period of at least 9 hours before the end of the third week, following the week in question.”

What? That is gobbely de ■■■■ to me. Can anyone explain this in much simpler terms?