Wee bit of advice please!

Hi all
I’m an experienced HGV driver ( 16 yrs class 1 & 12 previous class 3 rigid ) been working for a well known parcel company for 5 1/2 years, previous to that Somerfield - Kwik save for 6 years.
Money good for what I do but work long hours for it, all nights and really have had enough of the current job & permenent nights 5 times a week. Haven’t got anything of a life outside of this cycle of work, sleep, work etc.
Wanting to push a bit of a feeler out to you guys re changing jobs, staying in the industry as it’s all I know ( 12 years in HM forces / Army included ) but feel very institusionised within the job I currently do. The way things are going I can feel me going in 1 night, having an argument and telling them where to shove the job, something I don’t want to get into!!! :frowning:
May book myself onto a full ADR course next year in the hope I may have more options. As my wife is in a good, well paid job earning more than me currently, I am not able to give up work totally and as I haven’t worked for agencies for a long time haven’t a clue what the best step next is for me! All I know is my current job is teetering on a cliff-edge and one way or another 2013 must be a change for me and try to get some kind of normality back into my work / life balance instead of work, work, work all the time!
Not whinging guys, just after some feedback of what you think? My gut feeling is to leave … the company I work for will NOT re-employ you once you go, don’t ask me why it’s just something they do!

If after 5 years you’ve fallen out of love with your job I think you should leave just to preserve your sanity/self-respect.

But it’s always better to know what you are going to land in before you jump.

TBH a lot depends upon your location and circumstances.