Want to run my own tipper

HI all am looking for some advice on becoming an owner driver.(TIPPER)

I have been driving tippers for a couple of years now and really enjoy the job. I have spoke to some O/Ds about becoming an O/D and I get a mixed message, some say don’t do it stay in a job! and some say its what you make it some weeks are good some are bad. but you can make a good living out of the job

I would be going in to the muck shift and recycled side of it as there seems to be more money and more work in this side of the job from what I can work out (ie) quarry’s seem to be quiet at the mo .

am looking for some advice on start up costs ■■? and weather now is a good time to be planning on going on my own? or should i wait

thanks for your time and help chad

no offence mate but if you dont know how much its going to cost you to start up then you are no where near ready for doing it

here we go again 1st post wannabe :unamused:

Don’t know where your based but in London works busy but the rates ain’t great. Thing with tippers it helps if you don’t mind doing maintence and change tyres as these costs can add up.
Really your looking minimum 20k for a half decent motor. Minimum set of tyres per year you will know what you use in fuel.
I know 5 or 6 long term 20 plus year tipper od’s on this work not franchise for quarry’s who have thrown the towel in.

looking for help not sarcasm I have got a rough idea on costs / wagon 2nd hand. fuel, insurance, road tax, o licence, servicing etc. as I said looking for help.

I thought this was what this forum is for. im not a wanna be im serious!!!

thanks KR79 im in north wales m8

chad2197:
looking for help not sarcasm I have got a rough idea on costs / wagon 2nd hand. fuel, insurance, road tax, o licence, servicing etc. as I said looking for help.

I thought this was what this forum is for. im not a wanna be im serious!!!