Wannabe getting cold feet!

hi to all here at trucknet.
just wanted to quickly share my thoughts on my situation.
i am a qualified carpenter and have struggled since being self employed to get regular work.
private work that i thought would fill any gaps just has not materialised, for one reason or another.
my mrs has returned to her full time job after a year off with our new baby girl.
she has a very good job, holidays and sick pay etc and has always earned more than i have over any one year carrying out carpentry work.
she would dearly love to stay at home and take care of our daughter which would require her to leave her job.

i have thought long and hard about how i can bring home enough money every week for this to be possible and im looking at lgv work.luckily for me the area i live in is a haven for factory and field work, this has created alot of opportunity for driving work.

i am currently revising for the theory and hazard perception tests, and i am really enjoying learning about it.

the main worry for me is if im to earn decent money i will have to come to terms with the idea of starting at the bottom i understand this…
but i will not be able to do this full time in order to gain experience and to find better pay rates etc.

so im thinking it best to carry on in the week in carpentry and find some weekend work driving.

i dont know what you guys think about this, i really am unsure at the moment, ive got my medical booked in end of this month and hope to take the theory and hazard perception tests next month.

so pleased i found this forum, one of the best ones ive joined and the only one for lorry drivers. :slight_smile:

many thanks to you all for taking the time to read my post cheers

From other posts I have read from other newbies it seems that getting a few shifts here and there is a struggle for many for the first few months or even a year or so as agency work is all they can get

Then again - a few have struck lucky on getting regular jobs