Wagon, truck, or lorry?

With a nod to the recent legends thread……

The YouTube algorithm suggested to me that I watch a video by a newly passed truck driver, so I thought I’d take a look during a break the other night. To be honest, it was a load of old cobblers. 30 minutes of an agency class 2 driver with a Lancashire accent you could cut with a knife, making food or building supply materials deliveries around the North West and doing nothing that special apart from a lot of talking. Throughout the video, he steadfastly referred to his truck as a wagon and it got me to thinking. Who on here refers to their truck as a wagon and who says truck or lorry.

It seems a bit of an outdated reference to me these days, harking back to days of steam driven wagons or something. If people ask me what I do for a living, I just say I’m a truck driver as I don’t think people would know what a wagon driver (or wheel attendant) was. Saying that, the term for truck driver here in Holland is ‘vrachtwagen chauffeur’ so maybe I am a wagon driver after all? :smiley:

So, who says what and is it maybe a North South thing? What are you Robbie… oops I mean Robroy? :laughing: Wagon, truck, or lorry driver.

Juggernaut. :wink:

If thaz in Lancisher tha drarves a waggin. Did ya not know that ? did ya not ? :confused: :smiley: :smiley:
Regards John.

I am a retired wagon driver, lorry driver, truck driver. Never been a steering wheel attendant. :laughing:

It seems like this Robbie thing is going to stick. :laughing: Sorry Rob but you started it. :wink:

I’m a retired lorry driver.

Sent from my mobile.

Most of the English speaking world call it a truck and Brit transport cafe slang often a wagon while lorry was often a term used by old women gossiping at the shops.Hope that helps. :wink:

Personally,I favour Land Galleon Commander.Has a certain ring to it.