VOSA stop checks

Hi all I’ve been driving HGV for just over 2 years now I’ve never been stopped by Vosa yet my question is what exactly do they look for when they stop you obviously I know about all the vehicle checks … its more like do they look if you’ve done the average 48 hours over the 17 week period because I do about 56 :frowning: or do they just look for daily and weekly rest along with your 45 mins for EU scope and WTD? basically I’m asking what I can get away with hours wise… I like the money if you carnt tell :-p

samstone90:
basically I’m asking what I can get away with hours wise

Anything that’s legal.

I would say you can get away with any hours…if they are legal :wink:
Thats the law an the DVSA look for those not complying, they would likely use a computer program to tot up your hours rather than sitting there doing it manually for hours.

So they could work your hours out very quickly indeed,

I doubt if they could do a working hours check at the roadside, as your card only holds around 28 days of data, so impossible to check a 17 week period.

Many companies keep an open option on the 48 hour week, as long as you and the truck keep earning money. As long as you stay within the 90 hour fortnightly driving limits.

LIBERTY_GUY:
I doubt if they could do a working hours check at the roadside, as your card only holds around 28 days of data, so impossible to check a 17 week period.

Myth I’m afraid it can be up to a year easily .

they are looking for your wallet so make sure you got plenty of dosh if your doing anything wrong :slight_smile:

LIBERTY_GUY:

Many companies keep an open option on the 48 hour week, as long as you and the truck keep earning money. As long as you stay within the 90 hour fortnightly driving limits.

The tacho machine holds 12 month of information on it.

Yeah but only for that truck. In some companies you can be driving different vehicles both hgv and not, during a working week.

bald bloke:

LIBERTY_GUY: