VOSA, calling mechanic's out

Heard it all now-
After talking to our self employed fitter about a blown bulb & other defects on a trailer (that wasn’t defected by the last driver :imp: ) that I got allocated this morning, I asked why we can’t have a selection of bulbs in the cab or traffic office for early mornings, I got told that we can’t change bulbs as they are all different & we might damage the fittings !!!

What a load of BS I explained to him that I have been driving lorrys for 30 years & have changed plenty of bulbs in my time & all of a sudden I am not capable of changing a poxy rear light bulb ! (I don’t touch headlight bulbs, as they can be fiddly)
So in future should I call him out at 04.00 in the morning (not going happen !) just to put a 30p bulb in my trailer ?

I explained that just one light out, can invite interest from VOSA (he was sat in the ambush position at Watford Gap north this morning as usual) Then (this is the BS bit coming now !)he said “if we get pulled by VOSA, we are not allowed to change any bulbs & we have to call out a fitter :confused: at the company’s expense !” :unamused:

GET REAL !
Has any one else come across this or is it just Cash Generating on behalf of our fitter ? :wink:

a friend of mine got pulled by VOSA near Milton Keynes, he had a headlamp out, they made him sit there until DAFAid had been out to change the bulb