Volvo engine re-mapping

Hello, anybody on here had this done recently? Why is it called re-mapping is it the new word for chipped up? What sort of results have you experienced?

I’ve had a chipped 420 it went like ■■■■ but choked any1 within a street or two. It was excellent on fuel though.

I had my FH13 520 done on Thursday it seems to sound crisper but I’ve not been anywhere in it yet so dunno what its going to go like, I asked the guy all the above but eventually got flumoxed with his rambling! The bit I dont get is he says he’s re-mapped its torque curve & its now a 610 but I dont get how changing its torque will increase its BHP. I’m not an engineer but I’m not stupid either & I understand that changing the quantity off fuel & when its pumped in could up its BHP but not remapping its torque.

Incidently Volvo suggested they re-mapped it to a 480 for heavy work IE over 44t, anyway I’ve took no notice & saved a ■■■■ load of cash & now its a 610 they reckon!

If you read this Goaty I read you’d done your new shiny black FH when you’ve done polishing let me know how it pulls & its squirt consumption would ya?

Fly sheet

I fail to see how companies can claim to change the characteristics of a factory fitted unit.

An engine still has the same bore and stroke as before, and in ye olde days, the only way to do any serious tuning, would be to change the engine internals. Sure you could gain a few extra bhp by induction kits, carbs etc, (Petrol engines.) but how is it possible to claim an engine that came out of the factory sporting 480bhp, now having 610bhp. That’s roughly a 25% gain?

Ken.