Volunteer Driving

I have been asked if I am able to drive a hired goods vehicle from the UK to Switzerland and back for a large Scout Camp. I will be unpaid and might have some incidental expenses covered, but it is strictly not for profit. I hold a full Cat C licence, tacho card and will have my CPC for lorries by the time the event comes around. I have a few questions regarding rules on this please:

• If the vehicle is under 7.5t, is it at all covered by goods vehicle rules regarding hours, tacho etc at all?

• If it is over 7.5t do I have to use tacho etc?

• Is there anything I’m missing, is this going to be an issue in a way I have not thought of?

For the record, I am an experienced driver of large vehicles and have no issues driving a long distance in a large vehicle on the continent.

No EU regs exemption if over 7.5 tonnes (LGV C1)

Other countries may have slightly different regs

I suggest posting in EURO FORUM

Hirers won’t generally insure anything over 7.5t even if that and you need to provide your own insurance for the vehicle ( generally a year minimum policy ) and you’ll need at least a restricted international O licence even to carry own account goods.

Check out the .gov site but, any goods vehicle over 3,5 ton plated weight needs to be operated on a tacho to EU rules on International trips. Domestic exemptions can’t apply on non domestic trips.
If operating as a volunteer you maybe exempt from having contract of employment on you, but it is “easier” to have one, rather than stand at the roadside arguing about possibly being exempt.