Vdo downloadkey

I am getting stressed out about this devise.
when I stick it in the tacho to download data I am never sure that it is working as it should as the tacho displays “download error” so I pull it out and reinsert the [zb] thing and it seems to be ok.

Then after a while it seems to have worked, but when yhe time comes to transfer data to the pc the real fun starts.
The wife (bless her) does all that kind of stuff and I have just been told that it has messed our pc up (not an exact quote) and i think it did the same to the last laptop.

On top of all that,when the data is successfully transferred it’s pretty useless from the point of view of checking compliance ect.

Can anyone suggest a viable alternative I am an owner driver with one truck and absolutely no intention of increasing from one truck.

Any replies gratefully recieved

ROADRANGER:
I am getting stressed out about this devise.
when I stick it in the tacho to download data I am never sure that it is working as it should as the tacho displays “download error” so I pull it out and reinsert the [zb] thing and it seems to be ok.

Any replies gratefully recieved

Is this the type because this one used to give the same error message but always managed to download the info. I never had to do the rest because we just threw it to the office wallah after a download.

Yes that’s the one.
I think it is probably working as it should do, but, when I look at the data when it is on screen it is of no use.

What software are you using to read the data ?