Vacuum tankers got job

I have an interview Saturday for class 2 vacuum tanker work. I have only experience in Class 1 curtainsiders and fridges.
As far as I know it is wet waste and cesspits.
Any help for the interview would be appreciated as I really need this job.
Thanks lads and lasses

Be honest about your lack of experience, let them know you’re keen to learn, don’t seem desperate though, and tell them that you’ll always take your gloves off before you eat your sandwiches!

I work in the brown" industry :slight_smile: - it’s not rocket science really, as long as you have common sense and don’t mind the smell of waste the job is straightforward enough.
Lack of experience shouldn’t be a problem - things I would mention at interview would include:

quick to learn new skills like operating the tanker

good knowledge of local area, makes it easier to find domestic customers in the back of beyond

people skills - helps to have banter with the customers (tips are a regular thing)

able to take initiative - you could be sent to find a septic tank in the middle of a field, nobody on site to help you or no-one who even knows where to find it or what to look for

physically fit - could be hauling suction hoses over fields etc

happy to work in all weathers - you are likely to do a fair bit of grafting while emptying the tanks and not a lot will be indoors for obvious reasons

Good luck with the interview!