V6,V8,V10, (and the odd V12, Gentlemen, your experiences!

Back in recent history, the 70s, and 80s, a number of manufacturers utilised V configurations in their engines. Many are long gone, made obsolete by European “pollution regulation”, their installed weight penalty, and of course fuel useage, (particularly on part throttle).

Gentlemen, what is your experience of, Fiat, Unic, Berliet/Renault, MAN, Magirus,Mercedes, AEC, Perkins, ■■■■■■■ Vale, (did anyone ever enjoy these contraptions)? Scania, and not forgetting the "Green Leaker, Detroit. But please, only in on highway lorries, not Fire Appliances, Buses, or Coaches!

For my own part I had great service from Mercedes V8s, in the 1628s, in the 80s and early 90s. Totally reliable, and on daily rental, coped with everything thrown at them! But I have no experience of the 1633, the 48, or later lorries.

I always rated Herr MANs V10, particularly seeing how it stood up to the abuse Italian operators meeted out to it! I have friends in Belgium who still claim that the Magirus Vs were the most profitable engines to run, and friends in Britain who would claim the opposite for Mr Perkins Vs!
So over to you all, there must be some great experiences out there, lets hear about them, good, bad, and funny! Cheerio for now.

Being only a driver and not an operator, my experience with V8’s is of of limited worth for your post.
But the Mercedes NG range seemed to be a reliable engine, albeit very underpowered by todays standards. I had driven quite a few various marks in the 1624 - 2225 range though, I do recall coming back from Manchester to Essex with a piston,con-rod and the head removed from the engine of said 1624 after a catastrophic failure. but how the oil and water was sealed off by the lads who came out to get me going again escape me now. but home it came on seven with the surplus bits in the passenger footwell!