Usa to europe/uk

i’m sure it’s possible but how hard is it for a u.s. driver to get employed by a european company. any info would be nice

:confused: If you’re legally entitled to work here in the UK and got some proof of your US licence, you could possibly sign for an agency and sign a deal where they might put you through a UK test and then you have to work for them for a while.
That might your best bet to get a start over here. They also might help you get a Visa, assuming you need one.

Its just a thought.

thanks for your reply. it sounds like I need someone that will hire me before i can cross the pond and get any kind of visas or work permits. For what it’s worth i have an international license with the class E which i assume includes class c and b. but this license looks very jailhouse even the its from AAA (american automobile association). also, i’ve been driving these aritics for 4 years.

Your US licence will not be valid for you to drive in the UK - I know because of my job, you will have to take and pass a UK driving within 12 months of arrival in the UK and must also apply for a work visa.

The application for the visa must be done before arrival in the UK at one of the UK Embassy’s in the US.

You know for two country’s that play up our ‘special freindship’ to their own people and to the world in general, you’d think it would be easy to migrate to each others country wouldn’t you, but the fact of the matter is it is easier to migrate to Australia than America and they have some serious migration laws and it takes up to 2 years.

I saw an advert in truck and driver mag this month looking for drivers to migrate to Canada for long haul/USA work!

Hi GL

I’m an American who went thru the whole deal a couple of years ago…Arrived with a valid license (NC) and UK residence permit…

Can’t even get Insurance for a private automobile here on a US License…Can rent one easily enough, but buy one and it’s no go…