URGENT: Falling asleep at the wheel?

Scared of losing your licence if you tell someone?

We are making a BBC1 Real Story documentary looking at sleepiness and sleep apnoea amongst Britain’s lorry drivers. We know there are many lorry drivers out there who may have this problem, but DON’T want to go to their doctor or their employer, because they are afraid of losing their jobs.

If you are worried about how sleepy you are when you drive, we’d like to hear from you in confidence.

Please call Bethan on 01935 410566 or Lynn on 07736 412349 for a chat and we promise you complete anonymity.

One driver, Ron, took years to get help with his sleepiness:

"I am an agency lorry driver living in the Birmingham area. I suffer from a condition known as sleep apnoea, which means I snore at night, stop breathing for several seconds and then start breathing again. This can happen hundreds of times throughout the night. The next day I feel sleepy, which is obviously very dangerous as a professional driver. It took 15 years for me to be diagnosed but now I am on treatment and feel great and have continued with my job. I’m convinced this is a hidden problem affecting many, many lorry drivers. "

I do hope you can help. We look forward to hearing drivers’ experiences.

Post has permission. L.

Poll edited by Rikki to add another option: “I refuse to take part in this poll, as I have no confidence that the results will be used in a fair manner”

We are making a BBC1 Real Story documentary looking at sleepiness and sleep apnoea amongst Britain’s lorry drivers

This would be the same BBC that just did a hatchet job on our industry claiming that 50% of HGV’s were running illegally? and forgetting to mention that the vehicles that were pulled were in fact targetted vehicles and mainly foreign,

I can see the Radio Times Listing now.

The Hidden menace of Britains Trucks
How tired truck drivers are endangering your life