Umbrella companies?

Hi,
I am a self employed driver working on agencies. I am sole trading not a ltd company. recently I have registered on a couple more agencies but I seem to be having a problem staying self employed.
They are all saying that I must use an umbrella company or go PAYE with them. They are blaming it on this new directive that’s come in. I didn’t really want to go down this route as I only drive weekends and really don’t want to pay another company a fee to do a job I’m quite capable of doing myself.
I know if I want the work I will have to bite the bullet. has anyone any advice on which route to go and which umbrella company is the best value.

Thanks

Many agencies now insist on you either working through an unbrella company or having your own Ltd liability company as a means of saving them employers N.I and other employer costs. These umbrella companies act as your employer in most respects ie tax deductions, public liabilty insurance etc and are often far cheaper both in cost and effort required than running your own Ltd company.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Umbrella_company gives a good description of the workings of umbrella companies.

As for best value it is a case of comparing their charges and what they provide for that cost.

avoid umbrella companies they will take your money to do what you can do yourself,it might be best to go PAYE if thats what they are offering

If you haven’t already I suggest doing a search as there’s a lot of posts on this site about this topic :slight_smile:

Hello All