UK trucker wants to drive in the US

:question: I’ve been a trucker in the UK for about 13 years now and getting totally fed up of driving in this country, roadworks every 50 miles, too much traffic and the driving standards…well…are there any. After several holidays to the US and Canada mostly on the west side I actually find driving over thet relaxing.
So is it possible to go and drive a truck in the US.

I realise there will probably be a lot of sorting out to be done if indeed it is possible. If anybody could give me some “in & outs” I would be greatful. Things like:-
Do I need a work permit or visa?
Will I ned training from a trucking company first?
Is it really worth all the hassell?

There will be many other questions but if there is anybody out ther who has gone accross the pond I would be most welcome of any feedback.

See this thread: http://trucknetuk.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=6613 to find out about work visas.

Paul

Frankly, I can’t imagine why you’d want to work here. Drivers here work long hours and fudge the books in order to make deliveries. Truckstops are fithy, and the general populace looks at drivers as being about a half-step above garbagemen on the social spectrum.

AlexxInNY:
Frankly, I can’t imagine why you’d want to work here. Drivers here work long hours and fudge the books in order to make deliveries. Truckstops are fithy, and the general populace looks at drivers as being about a half-step above garbagemen on the social spectrum.

About the same as here then Alex, but you seem to have a better lifestyle and much better roads in general. Worse Trucks I grant you. :laughing: :laughing: :wink:

NO ! NO ! NO! Dafmad :laughing: the roads over here are terrible, oh how I love it when I come back there each year and drive on smooth surfaces without hitting 6 inch deep potholes at 70 mph, or driving along I 495 in MA which is so bad it’s like a terrible rollercoaster with things of evry description bouncing off flat beds.