Tyres for a bulk tipper

I’m after advice on what tyres you lads on bulk tipper work use on both unit and trailer. I’ve only been in business since November so a lot of the tyres I inherited are now coming up for replacing. I can’t say I’m shocked by the tyre wear I’m experiencing as it is hard work, but I’m not getting as much out of a tyre as expected.

I put a Barum super single on my trailer after a puncture in February and that has already been cut and is now ready to come off after 50000km. It started its life on the back n/s axle and was moved to front n/s about 6 weeks ago. At only 50000km tyre life I am going to have to replace each tyre on the trailer (apart from middles), 3 times a year! As an owner driver I ain’t one for screwing it round on a sixpence and always try to do a 3point turn where possible do is this just the sort of life expectancy on a bulker?

I’m seriously thinking about upgrading everything up to Michelin as I go along. Ok this will be a hell of a lot more cost effective if, as expected, they provide a much longer tyre life. For an owner operator it is a big financial commitment bearing in mind a GT Radial s/s is £260+ vat and a Michelin remix is almost double that. However if a Michelin really does have a far superior tyre life it makes sense.

So I would appreciate the help/advice of those in the know when it comes to tyres and in particular running them on a bulk tipper!

Cheers
Matt