Types of HGV work

Hello everyone.

I’m sort of new to lorry driving. I’ve had my licence since 08 but only drove here and there. I’ve recently re validated my licence and I have a digi card, PPE and truck sat nav. I’m looking for a bit of guidance. I’ve got some experience in fridge work doing depo to depo runs which I quite like, and I used to service car transporters on the trailer side. I’ve minimal curtain sider work and local runs at that.
I’m looking for work where I can get into a routine. I work well in this sort of field where I know where I am and where I’m going, I tend to look for more efficient ways of doing my job, I like to be able to specify where I am going to be at a certain time.

Things that make me nervous are, multi drop where I have no knowledge of the destination, maxing my driving ours constantly, delivering to London or similar big citys and the odd thing here and there which I’m sure I will feel better about once I gain a bit of experience.

I have a lot going on in my life so I’m hoping to avoid working all the hours god sends. I understand that this will perhaps lend itself to some of the lower paid positions or that I wont earn as much as I need a bit more time at home, the main reason for this is that I am a carer.

I guess what Im asking is, which areas of HGV work should I focus my search on? Is there anything in particular I should avoid?
Anyway, thank you for reading my post. Any pointers would go a long way.

Regards Andrew.

Got driver CPC DQC card ?