TV for nights out?

Hi guys and gurls.

I’m new to the world of tramping and I’m looking for some form of TV to watch when I’m parked up. I’ve tried the cheap ‘dongle’ things for my laptop but I’ve found the one I’ve got rather rubbish. I dont want to go spending a fortune but then again, I’m getting a little fed up with read books.

Any help would be great. :neutral_face:

I got a 19" hd with freeview and dvd built in from asda for £109 i use a 300w inverter to power it

As long as you can see the screen, any TV, big or small will do. Analogue or digital…
paying £200 for a digital TV is great, but if it won’t fit in you bag it’s no use. A cheap 2nd hand analogue connected to a £8 digibox will do a superb job too.
Whether you need something small & compact so that it’s portable enough to fit in your bag & can be stored in the car boot when not needed & easily moved from truck to truck if your a cab hopper doing occasional nights away for a big name fleet.
However if you want more than just channels 1-5, (digital etc) or a larger screen screwed to the bulkhead, a dvd player, playstation etc then you need to consider buying a good aerial/sat dish to improve the reception. But the more items you have for you entertainment increases the little problems + portability. Not to mention the storage

A laptop dongle is fine, but you Will need a good aerial for it (omnimax etc) £70+
But I’ve also used a STD £5 9/10 element domestic ext TV aerial joy rigged under the cab wind deflector . Pointed in roughly the right direction once I pull up for the night worked well for me in the past

try ebay.plenty of cheap 12volt colour tv’s on there.

bubsy06:
I got a 19" hd with freeview and dvd built in from asda for £109 i use a 300w inverter to power it

same here, when you see what some of the truckstops/accessory shops want for a smallish tv/dvd type unit, i thought i may as well go that route too, i keep the same truck, so can leave it all in there most of the year, which is handy.