Truckstop Pastimes

Hi

If any of you have not read my last posts, I am a final year product designer at Sheffield Hallam University.

I am just wondering what drivers do when they have stopped for a longer periods of time say overnight? whether its watching DVDs or using laptops just to browse internet, among others, although saw this was brought up on another topic.

Have read a few diaries by Coffeeholic, so have a better understanding. But am wondering what other people’s travels include?

The reason I am asking this is that I am looking at methods of increasing communication between a driver and the outside environment.
Still at early stages, but looking at covering info already available about jobs being carried out etc, but bringing other information about places being passed while travelling and info about truckstops such as ratings given by truck drivers, among others. Things that maybe of interest to people who are on intercontinental trips, all through the wonders of wireless communication! :smiley:

Thanks for any help people can give, and if I have not explained something just let me know!

My favourite pasttime is taking the wing mirrors off of the daft buggers who park their cars on the exit of the truck parking :laughing:

After a 15 hour shift I usually like to sleep

Fair point……think most people would be to be fair,…

but is the longest time you can drive in a single stint 4 hours 30 mins?
is there also a set shortest amount of time that needs to be spent on a break before carrying on?…….

guess original question can be applied here, although aware that it likely some of this time spent on food etc?

Just to fit in, when I’m at Tebay, I like to blow my air horns as loud as I can in the middle of the night, then wonder why everyone slings abuse/■■■■ bottles at me :unamused: :unamused: :imp: :imp: .

i couldnt possibly say as this is a family site :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: