Trucks batteries

Evening all I’m now a tramper driver and just wondering how easy it is to run the battery flat? I currently only use the interior lights at night time don’t know if I can charge my phone or if that will drain them and also does the night heater run on the battery? I also have a fridge in the cab and that’s on all night and truck always starts

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If your batteries are good then you’ll have no problems running those all night…

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Yea hopefully there good

Only one way to find out…

I’ve never had a problem doing as you suggest, plus running a microwave. Most trucks either warn you if the battery is getting too low to start the truck, or even turn off night heater etc if insufficient power in battery.

I have a tv on for around 5 hours plus the fridge is never turned off but it’s a new truck so they should be ok, as said the only real way is to chance it for a night.

Yea I drive a 12 plate scania with almost half a million miles on it and it drives fine and has no problems so should be alright

Put it another way. A phone charger will have a current draw of about 2 amps. A 24v fridge will draw about 5 amp roughly.
A decent truck battery is 170 amp hour or thereabouts depending on make / cost of the battery.
This means that the battery will allow a discharge of 170 amps for one hour.
Your truck will have 2 of these and so doubling that AH rating! if they are in good nick, they will run a fridge, chargers etc for a night with no problem.

Gembo:
Put it another way. A phone charger will have a current draw of about 2 amps. A 24v fridge will draw about 5 amp roughly.
A decent truck battery is 170 amp hour or thereabouts depending on make / cost of the battery.
Your truck will have 2 of these and so doubling that AH rating! if they are in good nick, they will run a fridge, chargers etc for a night with no problem.

Flaming heck, what phone are you charging? :grimacing: