Trilex Wheels

I have virtually zero experience of these - can any sage old soul tell me:

What the advantages / disadvantages are?

Are they legal on steer axle of UK registered trucks and if so, are there any restrictions?

Ta very much :slight_smile:

Trilex Wheels, are these the things JJ ?

You used to see them a lot in Germany and the rest of Europe, but rarely over here. I don’t see many with them on these days, just the odd old wagon and drag with them on all axles.

I’ve got no experience of them, so don’t know the good or bad points of them.
The obvious advantage though, is ease of changing tyres.

As to legality, as they still seem to be being made, they will have to be type approved, so they’ll be legal throughout Europe.

When I was in Germany used to see the Iranians run this type of wheel if you see one in the UK just ask them they are on the whole approchable chaps.

you still see them a lot on austrian,and swiss
lorrys and as posted those from middle-east
very easy to change and repair,which makes
life easyer when in those places where one
does not get 24/7 recovery-tyre service

Donkeys years ago I subbed on P&O (United States Lines) out of Felixstowe. USL supplied American built trailers (Skels) so the boxes were already to leave the port (no waiting to drop one off and pick up). 90% of these skels had Trilex wheels, they used to look like they were always loose though. Older trucks/trailers here in the colonies have Trilex as well.
That’s it I got nothing more :unamused: